The Doctor: A Fan-Based Analysis of Bests and Favourites

Hello again, dear reader!

For those of you who know me in the real world (sorry!), you know that I’ve been a Doctor Who fan for some time, but I’ve only recently become what is commonly known as a Whovian.  For the rest of the world, a Whovian is the Doctor Who equivalent of a Trekkie or a Warsie. We’re the special breeds of nerds who need a higher classification of nerd-dom.  As with many things in life, these classifications aren’t mutually exclusive; for example, I’m a Warsie as much (if not more) than I am a Whovian.

And boy, have I gone off the deep end with this show.

It’s funny, because for a while I thought the show was just good, but not brilliant. I enjoyed both Christopher Eccleston and David Tennant, and I loved the story.  But my first time trying to watch the show through, I only made it about half-way through Series 3. I’m not entirely sure what it was, but something about the show threw me off.

Fast-forward about a year, and I had just finished re-watching Community for about the ninth time, and was in the mood for Doctor Who once more (largely in part to Community’s intentionally-thinly-veiled homage, Inspector Spacetime). I started where I had left off: just before the New Who’s reintroduction of the Doctor’s age-old enemy, the Master.  Needless to say, I was once again hooked.  And still going strong. At this point, about two weeks later, I’m into the Sixth series, and getting pumped for the Silence, which I’ve heard so much about.

Anyway, I’m not writing today to tell my life story according to Doctor Who.  Instead, I wanted to talk about something it seems is inevitable amongst all Doctor Who fans: Which Doctor is the best, and which is their favourite.  It’s as irresistable a discussion as any.

So, I’ll start with my favourite.

Christopher Eccleston.  There, I said it.  David Tennant is not my favourite Doctor–gasp! Don’t get me wrong, I love the Tenth Doctor. But the Tenth is no Ninth.  Eccleston brought a beautiful darkness to the Doctor. While both Tennant and Smith have tried imitating this darkness, they haven’t been able to achieve quite the same level of depth as Eccelston was able to put into his Doctor.  The Tenth Doctor’s darkness comes off more as hubristic arrogance, while the Eleventh’s is more of an extension of his childlike approach to everything.  And again, I would like to not, neither of these is a bad thing! I love both characters.  I just, per my personal opinion, prefer Eccleston’s raw anger and emotion. And now, let the comment-rage begin.

On to the best.

I know what you’re thinking. With such deep-rooted opinions about Eccleston, he has to be the best, according to me. Or wait, maybe I think it’s Tennant, with his broad experience and history in Shakespearian acting.  Or no, hold on–it has to be Smith, with his new and fresh take on the Doctor.

My response? Stop trying to read my mind, it doesn’t speak English anyway.

No, none of the three are what I consider the best. Or rather, it is more appropriate to say that all three are the best.  Each of the three brilliant men are amazing actors, each with their own sets and styles of acting.  Eccleston is a more emotionally charged and headstrong actor, acting with his heart. Tennant, as I said, is an experienced stage actor, and brilliant at giving the audience the performance they want. It helps that he’s also a Whovian himself, lending more depth to the character. And Smith, again as I said, have a fresh and shiny approach to being this mercurial protector of the universe.  I don’t believe it’s fair to the program or to the actors themselves to say that one is better than the others.

And please don’t point to how many and which awards any of them have earned throughout the show, because it doesn’t matter. 99% of the time, we as the fans don’t choose who and where those awards go.  And, as the title points out, this is a fan-based analysis.  So there.

So please, dear reader, share your thoughts with me: Who is your favourite Doctor?

Also: Fantastic!

Leave a Reply

